Page 2 of 4

Re: Template: change from 3 "columns" to 2 (Oldnema)

Posted: Wed Sep 23, 2020 11:20 am
by frase
stylesheet.css line 32:

Code: Select all

#navi {
	float: left;
	width: 30%;
	margin-top: 0; /* that's changed */
}

Re: Template: change from 3 "columns" to 2 (Oldnema)

Posted: Wed Sep 23, 2020 1:20 pm
by Nicky
The problem is the search box.. got to go to the right side, but it seems to be caught in the ‘menu’.

Re: Template: change from 3 "columns" to 2 (Oldnema)

Posted: Wed Sep 23, 2020 1:38 pm
by frase
Then search in the template:
<div id="search">...</div>
Get it from <div id="menu"> and paste it at any position. Then you can position it freely.
Ludwig (lck) has already suggested this.
I suspect that the template is not in its original state anymore.
Someone has already played around with it.

Re: Template: change from 3 "columns" to 2 (Oldnema)

Posted: Wed Sep 23, 2020 8:20 pm
by lck
Nicky wrote:
Wed Sep 23, 2020 1:20 pm
The problem is the search box.. got to go to the right side, but it seems to be caught in the ‘menu’.
You have PM :) (modified files).

Re: Template: change from 3 "columns" to 2 (Oldnema)

Posted: Sun Sep 27, 2020 5:50 pm
by Nicky
Thanks to "lck" we are almost there...

Desktop version is perfect.

Once screensize changes however, tablet, phone.. seems the header is not responsive, so part of the image disappears on the right hand side.

Can this be done?

Also still in the mobile versions the h1 title is removed very far from the header as seen in images hereabove or on your phone :)

Check https://support-u.be/september2020

Please note that this old school template is available for download if it becomes 'perfect'. If, of course this is approved by Mikey and Oldnema...

Re: Template: change from 3 "columns" to 2 (Oldnema)

Posted: Sun Sep 27, 2020 8:34 pm
by Tata
Try to split the image into 2 separated images and/or make it (them) also responsive, evtl. convert to transparent PNG images.
[ external image ]

Re: Template: change from 3 "columns" to 2 (Oldnema)

Posted: Mon Sep 28, 2020 6:12 am
by frase
If you call on your server:
Settings -> Info
two warnings appear:
Debug-Mode wrote:WARNING: get_headers(): https:// wrapper is disabled in the server configuration by allow_url_fopen=0
/data/sites/web/support-ube/www/september2020/cmsimple/adminfuncs.php:196
WARNING: get_headers(): This function may only be used against URLs
/data/sites/web/support-ube/www/september2020/cmsimple/adminfuncs.php:196
I am not sure now whether this has immediate negative consequences.
You are using XH 1.7.2
But there is already XH 1.7.3

For the header image:
I would set the right part of the image better as "real text". Only the left part (logo) should remain as image.
You will probably get problems with the placement of the 2nd dolphin.
Otherwise the template needs a lot of rework.

Re: Template: change from 3 "columns" to 2 (Oldnema)

Posted: Mon Sep 28, 2020 10:43 am
by lck
Nicky wrote:
Sun Sep 27, 2020 5:50 pm
Once screensize changes however, tablet, phone.. seems the header is not responsive, so part of the image disappears on the right hand side.
Add to #header (but that is not all).

Code: Select all

#header {
	padding: 0;
	margin: 0;
	/* border-top: 5px #4a6105 solid; */
	margin-bottom: 1em;
	background-image: url(images/header1.jpg);
	background-repeat: no-repeat;
	background-position: left top;
	height: 189px;
	background-size: contain;
}
frase wrote:
Mon Sep 28, 2020 6:12 am
Otherwise the template needs a lot of rework.
Yes. The search box and possibly also the menu would have to be positioned differently and other things.

Re: Template: change from 3 "columns" to 2 (Oldnema)

Posted: Mon Sep 28, 2020 10:56 am
by frase
Yes, do what Ludwig says.

Or else: You take a look at this:
http://fhs.bplaced.net/nicky/

I took a few hours that morning and made a draft. It's not quite finished either, but perhaps it's suitable as a basis.
There is a download including XH 1.7.3

Note: The link is only temporary and will disappear in a few days.

Re: Template: change from 3 "columns" to 2 (Oldnema)

Posted: Mon Sep 28, 2020 7:45 pm
by Nicky
lck's background contain solution is very nice (that's what I asked for), but you are right, icon menu and search give some troubles again, however it works as planned.

Frase's template is absolutely something I could work with, already downloaded and will check it out. One dolphin should be more than enough anyway :lol:

Everyone thanks for all the efforts and time :D