Different template for each language

A place for general not CMSimple related discussions
ustalo
Posts: 93
Joined: Mon Aug 16, 2010 7:42 am
Location: Russia
Contact:

Different template for each language

Post by ustalo » Mon Apr 13, 2020 5:49 pm

CMS 1.7
If the is a possibility to set different template for every language?
At a moment if I set main template it is set for every language.
Aleksei


lck
Posts: 2010
Joined: Wed Mar 23, 2011 11:43 am
Contact:

Re: Different template for each language

Post by lck » Mon Apr 13, 2020 8:10 pm

olape wrote:
Mon Apr 13, 2020 6:31 pm
viewtopic.php?f=13&t=16013#p74554
Warum so kompliziert?
ustalo wrote:
Mon Apr 13, 2020 5:49 pm
f the is a possibility to set different template for every language?
Go in Backend to Settings > Language, Subsite and chose your Template for this language.
Of course you have to insert/install one in the templates folder before.
„Bevor du den Pfeil der Wahrheit abschießt, tauche die Spitze in Honig!“   👉 Ludwig's XH-Templates for MultiPage & OnePage

olape
Posts: 1197
Joined: Fri Mar 13, 2015 8:47 am
Contact:

Re: Different template for each language

Post by olape » Mon Apr 13, 2020 8:40 pm

lck wrote:
Mon Apr 13, 2020 8:10 pm
Warum so kompliziert?
ustalo wrote:
Mon Apr 13, 2020 5:49 pm
f the is a possibility to set different template for every language?
Go in Backend to Settings > Language, Subsite and chose your Template for this language.
Of course you have to insert/install one in the templates folder before.
:oops:

Oops, since I don't have much to do with multilingual websites, I don't know that at all. Learned something again.

ustalo
Posts: 93
Joined: Mon Aug 16, 2010 7:42 am
Location: Russia
Contact:

Re: Different template for each language

Post by ustalo » Tue Apr 14, 2020 4:17 am

I will try. I have seen subside for CMSimple, not for XH manual. Could I see one?
Aleksei

ustalo
Posts: 93
Joined: Mon Aug 16, 2010 7:42 am
Location: Russia
Contact:

Re: Different template for each language

Post by ustalo » Tue Apr 14, 2020 4:39 am

lck wrote:
Mon Apr 13, 2020 8:10 pm
olape wrote:
Mon Apr 13, 2020 6:31 pm
viewtopic.php?f=13&t=16013#p74554
Warum so kompliziert?
ustalo wrote:
Mon Apr 13, 2020 5:49 pm
f the is a possibility to set different template for every language?
Go in Backend to Settings > Language, Subsite and chose your Template for this language.
Of course you have to insert/install one in the templates folder before.
Thanks a lot
Looks like a manual for CMSimple, not XH. I could not find this setting
Aleksei

ustalo
Posts: 93
Joined: Mon Aug 16, 2010 7:42 am
Location: Russia
Contact:

Re: Different template for each language

Post by ustalo » Tue Apr 14, 2020 5:41 am

Cms 1.7 does not support subsites
Aleksei

olape
Posts: 1197
Joined: Fri Mar 13, 2015 8:47 am
Contact:

Re: Different template for each language

Post by olape » Tue Apr 14, 2020 9:26 am

ustalo wrote:
Tue Apr 14, 2020 5:41 am
Cms 1.7 does not support subsites
That's right.

https://cmsimpleforum.com/viewtopic.ph ... %5D#p54645

But here it seems that only the name of the variable was not changed correctly.
Check it out! I myself have never used it.
So I can't tell you what to put in there.
Probably something like template_ en.htm.
So the templates should all be in the same path.
My favorite would be to combine all needed templates in one file, as I first suggested.

frase
Posts: 3370
Joined: Thu Apr 21, 2016 6:32 am
Location: Saxony
Contact:

Re: Different template for each language

Post by frase » Tue Apr 14, 2020 9:57 am

olape wrote:
Tue Apr 14, 2020 9:26 am
Probably something like template_ en.htm.
Wow! I didn't know that either.

So it's very simple:
Create a template for the default language.
(Example: my_template_standard)
In the CMS configuration you set this template as default.

Then you create the templates for the desired languages in the template folder.
Examples:
my_template_en
my_template_fr
And so on.

Afterwards you select in the backend under Settings => Language => Subsite: Template, select the respective template for the respective language (drop-down field).

Because the menu item in the language file is still called "Subsite" - which is wrong - I never came up with this solution.

Translated with www.DeepL.com/Translator (free version)
Last edited by frase on Tue Apr 14, 2020 10:36 am, edited 1 time in total.

lck
Posts: 2010
Joined: Wed Mar 23, 2011 11:43 am
Contact:

Re: Different template for each language

Post by lck » Tue Apr 14, 2020 10:10 am

olape wrote:
Tue Apr 14, 2020 9:26 am
But here it seems that only the name of the variable was not changed correctly.
Richtig, nur das.
ustalo wrote:
Tue Apr 14, 2020 4:17 am
I will try. I have seen subside for CMSimple, not for XH manual. Could I see one?
Funktion Subsites wurde mit CMSimpleXH 1.6 komplett entfernt, aber man kann das Zweitsprachen-Feature dafür "missbrauchen".
Aber das ist ja hier nicht deine Frage.
ustalo wrote:
Mon Apr 13, 2020 5:49 pm
CMS 1.7
If the is a possibility to set different template for every language?
1) Du benutzt CMSimpleXH 1.7.2 oder 1.7 ?

2) Anleitung
lck wrote:
Mon Apr 13, 2020 8:10 pm
Go in Backend to Settings > Language, Subsite and chose your Template for this language.
Of course you have to insert/install one in the templates folder before.
Eventuell habe ich mich hier zu ungenau ausgedrückt, daher nochmal eine Schritt für Schritt-Anleitung.
1. Erstelle eine Zweitsprache z.B. en
2. Logge dich ins Backend ein
3. Wechsle zu der Zweitsprache en
4. Gehe zu Settings > Language, Subsite > Template und wähle dein Template im Selektfeld aus (dieses Template ist für alle Seiten in der Zweitsprache en aktiv).
FERTIG. Siehe Demo.

Das allgemeine Template wird in der Hauptinstallation www.example.com unter Settings > Configuration, Site > Template eingestellt. Standardeinstellung von CMSimpleXH ist hier "fhs-simple".

*** Frank (frase) war wieder schneller :)
„Bevor du den Pfeil der Wahrheit abschießt, tauche die Spitze in Honig!“   👉 Ludwig's XH-Templates for MultiPage & OnePage

Post Reply